Holy Spirit Gives Power to Overcome

Daily God Walk for Tuesday, October 18, 2011

 You will receive power when the Spirit comes on you. – Acts 1:8

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit. – Romans 15:13

 I have heard it said, and you have probably heard it said too, that we sin a little bit every day. Unfortunately, that is true for far too many believers, but it doesn’t have to be true. Frankly, I do not sin every day and I do not feel that I need to sin every day.

Some may think that is a prideful or arrogant statement, but that is not the case at all. The truth is that I make that statement in the confidence that Holy Spirit is able to keep me from sin. When I sin it is because I have been trusting my flesh; when I don’t sin it is because I have been trusting Holy Spirit.

Jesus told us that we would receive power when Holy Spirit comes upon us. That means when we receive Holy Spirit he comes with power and that power sets us free from sin. Paul wrote in Romans 8, “Through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit of life set me free from the law of sin and death” (v2). Holy Spirit power sets us free from sin and sinning.

“Those who live according to the sinful nature have their minds set on what that nature desires; but those who live in accordance with the Spirit have their minds set on what the Spirit desires. The mind of sinful man is death, but he mind controlled by the Spirit is life and peace” (Romans 8:5-7).

According to Paul the thing which makes the difference between being ruled by our sinful nature and being controlled by the Spirit nature is how we have our mind set. If our mind is caught up in thinking about the world, its comforts, its pleasures and its way of doing things, we will fulfill the desires of the sinful nature. If, however, our mind is set on pleasing the Spirit the Spirit himself will enable us to be freed from the drive to sin and will instead lead us into righteousness.

Which is your mind set on? Your life tells the story.

 Prayer: Lord, help me to keep my mind stayed on you. Amen.

we would love to hear from you. Send email to: paul@newhopeministryresources.org

Would you like a printed copy of the Daily God Walk? Visit us at: www.newhopeministryresources.org/dgw-orderinfo.html

0 Responses to “Holy Spirit Gives Power to Overcome”



  1. Leave a Comment

What are your thoughts?




Paul ”Hope Preacher” Smith

Messages of inspiration for the journey of faith

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 80 other subscribers

March