Put It Behind You and Think Forward

Daily God Walk for Monday, October 17, 2011

 Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus. – Philippians 3:13-14

 Many years ago I found myself in a spiritual and emotional dilemma. I was frustrated with some inconsistencies in my life and was becoming discouraged at my inability to be strong. You may be able to identify with the struggle I was having.

It seemed I was always falling short of my own expectations and if I was disappointed in myself how disappointed God must be. One day in the midst of that malaise I was reading the Bible when I cam upon this scripture. It immediately got my attention.

The Apostle Paul was my biblical mentor. I loved stories about him and his writings. I felt he was as close to God as anyone could be. In fact, I was actually named after him because my mom had the hope that I would become another apostle Paul.

Suddenly I realized that Paul was no super-saint. He was a man with feelings of self-doubt and self-incrimination just like me. Sitting in prison he wrote the book of Philippians and in it he questioned his worthiness to be accepted in the resurrection. I can almost see the grimace on his face as he writes, “Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it.”

Then I saw a ray of hope. He goes on to say, “But this one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind… straining forward… I press on toward the goal.” Paul saw that he could not depend upon his yesterdays to carry him through. Whether yesterday was a success, or a failure, we still must press on today. With the goal ever before us we look heavenward to Christ Jesus.

I would encourage you to not let your yesterdays drag you down. If you feel defeated over yesterday then let it go. If you sinned repent and if you just disappointed yourself then start again today pressing ever toward the goal, fixed on the prize, looking to Jesus Christ.

 Prayer: Lord, help me to stay focused on the goal. In Jesus name.

we would love to hear from you. Send email to: paul@newhopeministryresources.org

Would you like a printed copy of the Daily God Walk? Visit us at: www.newhopeministryresources.org/dgw-orderinfo.html

0 Responses to “Put It Behind You and Think Forward”



  1. Leave a Comment

What are your thoughts?

Paul ”Hope Preacher” Smith

Messages of inspiration for the journey of faith

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 80 other followers

March


