Failing to Be Thankful

Daily God Walk for Friday, November 4, 2011

 You have not brought me sheep for burnt offerings, nor honored me with your sacrifices. I have not burdened you with grain offerings nor wearied you with demands for incense. You have not bought any fragrant calamus for me, or lavished on me the fat of your sacrifices. But you have burdened me with your sins and wearied me with your offenses. – Isaiah 43:23-24

 In this 43rd chapter of Isaiah God is expressing his frustration at the thanklessness and the unfaithfulness of his chosen people. In verses 18-19 he says that he is going to do a new thing. He says that he is making a way in the desert and he is putting streams in the wasteland. He is promising restoration and a new way, but still he doesn’t have the attention of the people.

He says, “The wild animals honor me, the jackals and the owls, because I provide water in the desert and streams in the wasteland, to give drink to my people, my chosen, the people I formed for myself that they may proclaim my praise. Yet you have not called upon me, O Jacob, you have not wearied yourself for me, O Israel” (verses20-22).

He promised a new thing; streams in the desert. He was bringing life to a barren land and even the animals honored him for what he had done, but his own chosen people did not stop to praise him and to thank him for his great kindness.

God told them that they did not inconvenience themselves to honor Him yet they have burdened Him with their sins and wearied Him with their offences (verse 24). The people of that day remind me many today who come to God for their own needs but do not show gratitude for His bountiful blessing.

Once when Jesus was approached by some followers He said, “You only follow me because of the loaves and fishes,” and so it often is for people today. As long as we have a need we will follow Him, but when our needs are met, rather than be thankful we forget His mercy and go our own way.

We must practice gratitude and thankfulness lest we fail to honor God for His bountiful blessing.

 Prayer: Lord, give me a heart of gratitude for your many blessings.

we would love to hear from you. Send email to: paul@newhopeministryresources.org

Would you like a printed copy of the Daily God Walk? Visit us at: www.newhopeministryresources.org/dgw-orderinfo.html

0 Responses to “Failing to Be Thankful”



  1. Leave a Comment

What are your thoughts?

Paul ”Hope Preacher” Smith

Messages of inspiration for the journey of faith

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 80 other followers

March


