Jesus is Our Example of Being Thankful

Daily God Walk for Wednesday, November 2, 2011

 They took away the stone. Then Jesus looked up and said, “Father, I thank you that you have heard me. I knew that you always hear me, but I said this for the benefit of the people standing here, that they may believe that you sent me.”    – John 11:41

 I find it interesting that Jesus was thanking the Father for hearing him before he even called Lazarus forth from the tomb. That is a great picture of the faith which comes from an intimate relationship. He knew the Father heard him before he asked and he was thankful.

I find a great truth here regarding thankfulness. How often are we thinking, “If God does this thing I will be so thankful”? What we are really saying is, “OK God, I’ll trust you when the answer comes.” We would like to trust him, and we want to trust him, but we really aren’t sure if he will come through so we reserve thankfulness until we see the evidence of his blessing.

It is true that Jesus had a unique relationship with the Father, but it is just that relationship which we should be seeking. Oh, I know that we will never have quite the same intimacy with the Father, but we can certainly grow closer than most of us seem to be.

It is when we have a close, intimate relationship with God that our faith becomes strong enough to call things that are not as if they are (Romans 4:17). We develop that kind of faith and relationship through regularly spending blocks of time with Him, both seeking him and worshipping him.

I have found that the more time I spend with Him the more grace, or favor, I sense being released into my life. Also, when I have intimacy with the Father faith grows and I can hear his voice more clearly. It is in those times that it is easy to give thanks to the Father.

I would encourage you to take the time and make the effort to develop an intimate relationship with the Father. We should take advantage of the access afforded us by faith in Jesus.

 Prayer: Lord, lead me into intimacy with you. In Jesus name.

we would love to hear from you. Send email to: paul@newhopeministryresources.org

Would you like a printed copy of the Daily God Walk? Visit us at: www.newhopeministryresources.org/dgw-orderinfo.html

0 Responses to “Jesus is Our Example of Being Thankful”



  1. Leave a Comment

What are your thoughts?

Paul ”Hope Preacher” Smith

Messages of inspiration for the journey of faith

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 80 other followers

March


