Submitting to God Defeats the Devil

Daily God Walk for Friday, October 21, 2011

 Submit yourselves, then, to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. Come near to God and he will come near to you. – James 4:7-8

 James starts out the fourth chapter of his writing with, “What causes fights and quarrels among you? Don’t they come from your desires that battle within you?” The obvious answer is “Yes” and he goes on to explain that the issue is that they covet what they don’t have.

He explains that their problem is they are driven by their own desires. In verses 2 and 3 he writes, “You kill and covet, but you cannot have what you want. You quarrel and fight. You do not have, because you do not ask God. When you ask, you do not receive, because you ask with wrong motives, that you may spend what you get on your pleasures.”

Have you given much thought to your own times of dissatisfaction? I have, and when I think it through I have found that my dissatisfaction comes more from what others have than from what I actually need.

When someone I know gets recognition or a promotion I feel just a little bit like that was something I should have gotten. When I see a friend with a new car I sometimes feel like I should have one too. That kind of thinking leaves me feeling unsatisfied and unfulfilled which in turn causes me to begin to harbor feelings about those who have the things I long to have. I think that was what James was talking about here.

How does one escape this devil of covetousness? James writes, “Submit yourselves, then to God. Resist the devil and he will flee from you.” When we have submitted our will to God then we are content with his will in our lives. When we are submitted to God we can rejoice at the good fortune of others without feeling like it should have been us.

Being submitted to God is a state of being. It is affected by our mental and spiritual being. We must make a conscious choice of the will to yield ourselves to the will of God. When we do that God reinforces our decision with his Spirit and we receive a spiritual contentment with God’s will for our lives.

We should pray for the spirit apostle Paul showed when he writes, “”I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation” (Philippians 4:11-12).

 Prayer: Help me to make the choice to submit to you. In Jesus name.

we would love to hear from you. Send email to: paul@newhopeministryresources.org

Would you like a printed copy of the Daily God Walk? Visit us at: www.newhopeministryresources.org/dgw-orderinfo.html

0 Responses to “Submitting to God Defeats the Devil”



  1. Leave a Comment

What are your thoughts?

Paul ”Hope Preacher” Smith

Messages of inspiration for the journey of faith

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 80 other followers

March


