Is There An Answer to My Sin Nature?

Daily God Walk for Thursday, October 6, 2011

 What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body of death? Thanks be to God 0 through Jesus Christ our Lord!  – Romans 7:24-25

 In this chapter Paul is not only talking about the natural state of mankind, he is also talking about the condition of believers who have not learned to live consistently in Christ.

I have known a lot of people who have used the issue we addressed yesterday to say something like, “You see, just like it says here; I can’t live a righteous life.” And it is true we can’t, at least not on our own. But there is an answer.

In his frustration Paul cries out, “What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me?” But he didn’t stay in that state of frustration. Feeling defeated, a failure and lost, he came to the realization that he could be rescued from the driving force of sin and the rescuer is Jesus Christ our Lord.

I’ve done a lot of work with people in recovery from drugs and alcohol and I have found one thing in common. In order for them to be freed from their addiction they must come to the realization that they cannot get free alone. Then they must realize that there is a power greater than themselves which can set them free.

Not all of us have such an outwardly obvious addiction, but we are all addicted to sin. The only way we will ever be victorious over sin is to realize that we can’t do it alone and that we must turn to Christ who alone is the way to the freedom we desire.

Realizing that his only answer is Jesus Christ, Paul goes on to say in the next verse, “So then, I myself in my mind am a slave to God’s law, but in the sinful nature a slave to the law of sin. Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus” (Romans 7:26-8:1).

The solution to our sin nature is to keep our mind filled with God’s law and our hearts filled with the Spirit of Christ. I can promise you that if you do that you will live a victorious life in Christ.

 Prayer: Lord, grant me the grace to fill my mind with your word and my heart with the Spirit of Christ. In Jesus name, amen.

we would love to hear from you. Send email to: paul@newhopeministryresources.org

Would you like a printed copy of the Daily God Walk? Visit us at: www.newhopeministryresources.org/dgw-orderinfo.html

0 Responses to “Is There An Answer to My Sin Nature?”



  1. Leave a Comment

What are your thoughts?

Paul ”Hope Preacher” Smith

Messages of inspiration for the journey of faith

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 80 other followers

March


