Here Comes the Judge – And He’s Not You!

Daily God Walk Monday, August 15, 2011

 Do not judge, or you too will be judged. For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you. – Matthew 7:1-2

 In my early years of ministry I was in a very judgmental group.  Oh, they claimed not to be. In fact they would say something like, “I’m not judging, I’m just inspecting the fruit” (from Matthew 7:16, “By their fruit you will recognize them.”). Then from there they would begin to point out all the flaws in the “fruit” they were inspecting.

Don’t get me wrong. I do believe in living a separated life and I do believe in holiness, but as long as I am not violating the scripture, don’t judge me. And, if I am violating scripture, don’t judge me but pray for me and encourage me.

Jesus gave us a very good reason not to judge others. He said, “In the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you. I take that to mean that if, for example, our standard is the 10 commandments and we judge another for their failure in any one of those, then we must expect to be judged by that same standard. However, Jesus adds another dimension to the process.

Just a few verses before our text, in chapter five, Jesus adds another dimension to the law. He teaches us that if we have it in our heart we are just as guilty as the one who does it. When you judge another for anger and rage, remember, it you have hatred in your heart you are just as guilty, even though you haven’t said a word. Don’t judge others unless you are ready to be judged.

I have noticed that judging others has two motivators. One is to justify ourselves. If someone else is guilty of something then that makes us feel better about our own sin. The other is that judging assumes the motive of another is not just. If I judge you because you don’t look like me, or dress like me, or talk like me then I am also judging that your motive is wrong which makes your heart wrong. Think about it the next time you are tempted to judge another.

 Prayer: Lord, grant me the grace to judge myself and not others.

We would love to hear from you. Send email to: paul@newhopeministryresources.org

Would you like a printed copy of the Daily God Walk? Visit us at: www.newhopeministryresources.org/dgw-orderinfo.html

0 Responses to “Here Comes the Judge – And He’s Not You!”



  1. Leave a Comment

What are your thoughts?

Paul ”Hope Preacher” Smith

Messages of inspiration for the journey of faith

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 80 other followers

March


