Obedience Releases Holy Spirit in Believers

You can have a free, no obligation trial subscription to the print edition of the Daily God Walk. Click here for Details

Daily God Walk for Sunday, July 31, 2011

 We are witnesses of these things, and so is the Holy Spirit, whom God has given to those who obey him. – Acts 5:32

 Those who obey his commands live in him, and he in them. And this is how we know that he lives in us: We know it by the Spirit he gave us. – 1 John 3:24

Many years ago I worked in a state prison. I met many very bad men while I worked there. Among the worst of the gangs in the prison was a group called “Aryan Brotherhood.” One day as I was putting one of their members into his cell he whispered to me, “I would like to be a Christian, but I know I couldn’t live it.”

That man was right, he couldn’t live it. In fact, neither can I and neither can you. That is why God gave us the Holy Spirit. John wrote, “Those who obey his commands live in him.” We could rephrase that to say, “Those who live in him obey his commands,” and that would certainly be accurate.

The passage in Acts says that God gives the Holy Spirit to those who obey him. The reference there is obeying God in receiving Jesus as the Christ and allowing him to become our savior. When we obey God in accepting Christ Holy Spirit is released to us.

When we have obeyed God in receiving Christ, Holy Spirit comes to dwell in us. The test of whether we have truly accepted Christ is if we obey his commands. How do we get the ability to obey his commands? John tells us, “By the Spirit he gave us.”

Yes, it is true, we cannot fully obey Christ in our own ability, but as we live submitted to God Holy Spirit releases in us the ability to live out the commands of Christ.

It was nearly 40 years ago that I worked in the prison and I didn’t understand the principles of the kingdom of God as well as I do now. If I had I would have told that young man the same thing I am telling you now; you will never be able to live the Christian life without Holy Spirit, but those of us who have believed in Christ were given Holy Spirit – with him we can do it.

 Prayer: Thank you Lord that Holy Spirit lives in me. Amen.

We would love to hear from you. Send email to: paul@newhopeministryresources.org

Would you like a printed copy of the Daily God Walk? Visit us at: www.newhopeministryresources.org/dgw-orderinfo.html

0 Responses to “Obedience Releases Holy Spirit in Believers”



  1. Leave a Comment

What are your thoughts?

Paul ”Hope Preacher” Smith

Messages of inspiration for the journey of faith

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 80 other followers

March


