Be Humble Toward One Another

Daily God Walk for Monday, June 27, 2011

All of you, clothe yourselves with humility toward one another, because, “God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble.” Humble yourselves therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time. Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you. – 1 Peter 5:5-7

 A motivation for Peter to write, “clothe yourselves with humility toward one another” might be that he faced the same problem with people that we do today. Far too many believers fail the test of being humble toward one another.

There is a one-line joke about humility that goes like this: “I try to be humble, but it is really difficult to be humble when one is as great as I am.” The reality of humility is that if you have to try to be humble then you are not really humble. So how does a person clothe himself with humility toward others?

Is there value to being humble? Yes there is. Our passage states, “God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble.” If the line of blessing is cut clearly between the proud and the humble then we would do well to understand what is meant by both of these words.

The Greek word translated pride simply means to put ones self above others, to be haughty. Pride offends the principles of “one another” because pride stands for raising ones self above others. Pride leads me to prefer myself in an opportunity because I am more worthy than the others. Pride causes me to expect others to cater to my wishes. This list could be long but you get the idea.

Humility, or being humbled is the opposite of pride. If I humble myself then I am submitting myself to the needs of those around me. Humility is at the core of “one another” principles.

How do we become humble? Our passage says, “Humble yourselves therefore, under God’s mighty hand.” We must realize God is greater than ourselves and our circumstances. His plans are far superior to any I could come up with. When we fully realize that then humility just seems to slip in unnoticed.

 Prayer: Lord, help me to yield my will to the mighty hand of God and grant me humility toward others. In Jesus name, amen.

We would love to hear from you. Send email to: paul@newhopeministryresources.org

Would you like a printed copy of the Daily God Walk? Visit us at: www.newhopeministryresources.org/dgw-orderinfo.html

0 Responses to “Be Humble Toward One Another”



  1. Leave a Comment

What are your thoughts?

Paul ”Hope Preacher” Smith

Messages of inspiration for the journey of faith

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 80 other followers

March


