Paul’s Prayer for Enlightenment

Click Here to get a preview of the June Daily God Walk

Daily God Walk for Sunday, May 29, 2011

 I have not stopped giving thanks for you, remembering you in my prayers. I keep asking that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and revelation, so that you may know him better. I pray also that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance I n the saints, and his incomparably great power for us who believe.   – Ephesians 1:19

 Paul is asking four things for the church at Ephesus. First he prays for wisdom and revelation so that they might know the Father better. That is the prayer of many of us today. It seems that far too few believers are fully committed to knowing God. I don’t mean learning the doctrines, though that is important, but actually knowing him like you would know a beloved friend.

Then he asks that the eyes of their heart would be lighted to three things. First, that they would be enlightened to the hope of their calling. It is so easy living in the world to forget that our hope is not in this world. We often hear disturbing news about this world and we should not forget that just as the old hymn says, “This world is not my home, I’m just passing through, my treasure is laid up somewhere beyond the blue.”

The second part of this enlightenment prayer is that they would realize their glorious inheritance. I know people who have scrimped and saved all of their lives so they could pass on an inheritance to their children, but they have not instilled in their children a hope for their eternal inheritance.

The third part of this enlightenment prayer is that they would realize the great power God has vested in believers. We are given the power to overcome the world, the devil, and yes, even our own sinful nature.

Our prayer today is the same as Paul’s.

 Prayer: Lord, grant me wisdom, revelation and enlightenment that I may know you better, and that I will know the hope of my calling, the riches of my inheritance and the great power you have vested in me as a believer. In Jesus name, amen.

We would love to hear from you. Send email to: paul@newhopeministryresources.org

Would you like a printed copy of the Daily God Walk? Visit us at: www.newhopeministryresources.org/dgw-orderinfo.html

0 Responses to “Paul’s Prayer for Enlightenment”



  1. Leave a Comment

What are your thoughts?

Paul ”Hope Preacher” Smith

Messages of inspiration for the journey of faith

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 80 other followers

March


