David’s Prayer of Repentance

Daily God Walk for Tuesday, May 17, 2011

 Have mercy on me, O God, according to your unfailing love; according to your great compassion blot out my transgressions. Wash away all my iniquity and cleanse me from my sin. For I know my transgressions, and my sin is always before me. Against you, you only, have I sinned and done what is evil in your sight.  – Psalm 51:1-4

 David had made a terrible mistake. He had sinned with Bathsheba and to cover his sin he had her husband put in a place in battle where he would surely be killed. He carried the guilt of that sin until God sent the prophet Nathan to confront him.

Nathan told the story of a man who had plenty and was visited by a friend. Instead of killing one of his own lambs for a feast with his friend he took the only lamb of a neighbor. Upon hearing this story David said, “Who is this man? I’ll have him put to death.” Nathan replied, “David, you are the man.”

Conviction fell heavy upon David and he repented sorely. Psalm 51 is a record of his repentance and the mercy of God in forgiving him.

This psalm is an example of repentance and restoration. David was not just sorry for his sin, he was broken before God because he realized how his sin had affected himself, his family, the kingdom and his relationship with God.

All of us have sinned. Our sin may not have been as horrible as having someone killed to cover up another sin, but our sin has affected our relationship with God just the same.

In verses 10-12 David cries out to God asking for a pure heart, a steadfast spirit, the presence of the Holy Spirit and for the joy of salvation to be restored. When we have sinned our prayers should include those things.

For our prayer today let’s make the same prayer as David:

 Prayer:  “Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. Do not cast me from your presence or take your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of your salvation and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me.”

We would love to hear from you. Send email to: paul@newhopeministryresources.org

Would you like a printed copy of the Daily God Walk? Visit us at: www.newhopeministryresources.org/dgw-orderinfo.html

0 Responses to “David’s Prayer of Repentance”



  1. Leave a Comment

What are your thoughts?

Paul ”Hope Preacher” Smith

Messages of inspiration for the journey of faith

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 80 other followers

March


