David’s Prayers of Longing for God

Daily God Walk Monday, May 16, 2011

 O God, you are my God, earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you, my body longs for you, in a dry and weary land where there is no water.

I have seen you in the sanctuary and beheld your power and your glory. Because your love is better than life, my lips will glorify you. I will praise you as long as I live and in your name I will lift up my hands. My soul will be satisfied as with the richest of foods; with singing lips my mouth will praise you.

On my bed I remember you; I think of you through the watches of the night. Because you are my help I sing in the shadow of your wings. My soul clings to you; your right hand upholds me. – Psalm 63:1-8

 The heading on this psalm reads, “A psalm of David. When he was in the desert of Judah.” Scholars believe that it was written when David had gone into exile during the time Absalom had usurped the throne.

Moved out of the comfort of his palace, and away from the place where he was accustomed to worshipping God, he is crying out, “My soul thirsts for you.” David feels so out of place and in a desert of despair that he is hungry for home and thirsty for God.

Have you ever been there? Things aren’t going right; it may be a financial loss, or a broken relationship, or maybe it is a physical condition. We’re talking about whatever it is that affected your peace.

I can remember a time when we were under extreme attack from the enemy of our soul. My wife and I were both having life threatening physical issues, our son had been arrested on false charges and two or three other major issues were taking place at the same time.

Every night we would lay in bed holding hands, weeping as we cried out to God, much in the same way David is crying out. Like David we could remember the good times with God. It was the memory of the good times which gave us strength for tough times. 

 Prayer: Lord, in the times of our darkest trial we have the comfort of knowing you will bring us through. Thank you. Amen.

We would love to hear from you. Send email to: paul@newhopeministryresources.org

Would you like a printed copy of the Daily God Walk? Visit us at: www.newhopeministryresources.org/dgw-orderinfo.html

0 Responses to “David’s Prayers of Longing for God”



  1. Leave a Comment

What are your thoughts?

Paul ”Hope Preacher” Smith

Messages of inspiration for the journey of faith

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 80 other followers

March


