The Prayer of Jabez

Daily God Walk Sunday, May 15, 2011

 Jabez was more honorable than his brothers. His mother had named him Jabez, saying, “I gave birth to him in pain.” Jabez cried out to the God of Israel, “Oh, that you would bless me and enlarge my territory! Let your hand be with me, and keep me from harm so that I will be free from pain.” And God granted his request. – 1 Chronicles 4:9-10

 In the middle of a boring chronology there is inserted this interesting note, “Jabez was more honorable than his brothers.” No comments were made about anyone else in this portion of scripture. We don’t know any more about Jabex than what is mentioned in this passage, but there must have been something remarkable about him to receive such mention.

A Christian writer authored a small book a few years ago titled, “The Prayer of Jabez.” In that book he explored phrases of that prayer that we are given in this passage. Let’s take a quick look at this prayer.

“Oh, that you would bless me and enlarge my territory.” Jabez was not afraid to ask God for blessing and he was not afraid of accepting responsibility for a larger territory. Remember this prayer was made in the context of the statement that Jabez was more honorable thatn his brothers.” That would lead us to believe that his prayer for blessing and enlarged territory came from a righteous cause.

“Let your hand be with me.” He realized his need for the hand of the Lord to be upon him. We must realize today that without the touch of God we will not be able to accomplish the purposes for which he has called us. To have the hand of the Lord upon we must be submitted to his will.

“Keep me from harm so that I will be free from pain.” The name “Jabez” simply means “pain.” His prayer was not only that he would be free from pain but that he would not cause pain to others.

 Prayer: Lord, bless me and enlarge my territory! Let your hand be with me, and keep me from harm so that I will be free from pain. In Jesus name, amen.

We would love to hear from you. Send email to: paul@newhopeministryresources.org

Would you like a printed copy of the Daily God Walk? Visit us at: www.newhopeministryresources.org/dgw-orderinfo.html

0 Responses to “The Prayer of Jabez”



  1. Leave a Comment

What are your thoughts?

Paul ”Hope Preacher” Smith

Messages of inspiration for the journey of faith

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 80 other followers

March


