God Promises to Answer Prayer

Daily God Walk for Thursday, May 12, 2011

 “Because he loves me,” says the Lord, “I will rescue him; I will protect him, for he acknowledges my name. He will call upon me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble, I will deliver him and honor him. With long life will I satisfy him and show him my salvation.” – Psalm 91:14-16

 I have a friend who knows very little comfort in life. His body is troubled with life threatening diseases and his soul seems empty. He has no faith to turn to, no god outside of himself to call upon. His challenge is that he became disillusioned with Christianity as a child and pursued alternative belief systems.

Now he has no hope in a power greater than himself and he lives in hopeless despair. Oh, he tries to encourage himself but in the end he knows that nothing can help him. I wish he could know the God I know.

Just look at these promises: “I will rescue him,” what a hope. “I will protect him;” a promise of comfort on the darkest night. “He will call upon me, and I will answer him.” Why does God promise these things? This passage begins by answering that question before it is asked; “Because he loves me.”

I have another friend who struggles with many physical issues. He is on Social Security and has to ride his motorized chair transport most places he goes. A difference is that this man has hope. He regularly gives testimony of prayers God answers. In fact, in his church they kind of keep record of his answered prayers because he keeps saying, “I’m batting a thousand.” This man knows and loves the Lord.

It really does seem to be a no-brainer. Given the choice between fighting the despair of making it through life on our own or submitting to the care of a loving God who promises to hear us when we pray, the wise will choose God every time.

For those who choose to love him God says, “With long life will I satisfy him and show him my salvation.” I choose God – How about you?

 Prayer: Father, thank you for the privilege of calling you Father. I do love you and thank you for hearing and answering prayer.

We would love to hear from you. Send email to: paul@newhopeministryresources.org

Would you like a printed copy of the Daily God Walk? Visit us at: www.newhopeministryresources.org/dgw-orderinfo.html

0 Responses to “God Promises to Answer Prayer”



  1. Leave a Comment

What are your thoughts?

Paul ”Hope Preacher” Smith

Messages of inspiration for the journey of faith

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 80 other followers

March


