Take Heart! I Have Overcome the World

Daily God Walk for Friday, December 17, 2010

 I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.                                           – John 16:33

 These verses conclude three chapters of instructions about what was about to take place. Finally the disciples were getting it. In fact they had just told him, “Now you are speaking clearly and without figures of speech” (v29)

It would only be a few more hours before he was taken and these would be his final words of instruction to them. He gave them a caution, a warning and a promise.

The caution is that they were to be aware of the work of the Holy Spirit and not suppress his work or hinder what he would do. Later the apostle Paul cautions us to not quench, or hinder, the Holy Spirit (1 Thessalonians 5:19).

The warning is that the world would hate them just as they had hated him. He warns them that if they will stay in the vine connected to him they would do well. He tells them that the world hates them because they have been born into another world and are no longer of this world.

Finally, he gives them a promise. “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace.” He cautioned and warned so that they would be prepared for the attacks which would come upon them. Jesus wanted them to remember that he had given them the Holy Spirit to comfort them.

Jesus was telling them that the way would not be easy, there would be much trouble along the way, but his peace would be with them and to always remember that he, the great example had overcome the world and they could to.

We face many trials and troubles in this life but we should take comfort from this passage remembering that because he lives in us we can endure all the world brings our way.

 Principle:  We can overcome the world because he already has.

Affirmation: The Christ in me has made me an over comer.

Prayer:  Help me to ever remember that I can endure every trial because you have overcome the world. In Jesus name, amen.

 Would you like a printed copy of the Daily God Walk? Visit us at: www.newhopeministryresources.org/dgw-orderinfo.html

 We would love to hear from you. Send email to: paul@newhopeministryresources.org

4 Responses to “Take Heart! I Have Overcome the World”


  1. 1 David A November 28, 2012 at 6:19 pm

    Paul rejoiced in his trials and encouraged us to do the same. Yeshua of Natzeret in Galil used the Hebrew word shalom. Because He had this shalom Yeshua was able to walk right through the crowds that wanted to stone Him. When asked about tax money, His shalom allowed Him to know where to harvest it without planting. Perfect love cast out fear. The only thing we are to fear is not continuing in awe of God The Father and His Word. John 14:27 “Peace I leave with you; My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Do not let your heart be troubled, nor let it be fearful. John 14:27 again is Hebrew shalom. Rejoicing in our troubles then is more like rejoicing that we can mow the field on a sit down mower instead of using a sickle. Yeshua has given those of us offered, His shalom. We must believe that He had absolute shalom and by choice we can formally receive it and then allow it to empower us as more than conquerors..John 17:23 I in them and You in Me, that they may be perfected in unity, so that the world may know that You sent Me, and loved them, even as You have loved Me.
    In a good congregation this unity will be a reality the world will see.
    Yes, we live in the world but we are not of it. Yeshua has redeemed us from the curse. Yeshua has given us the garments of righteousness. We must wear them if we want to be appropriate at the wedding feast so we had better start wearing them now. The time is short. Our trouble in this world is for us to face in robes of righteousness, completely in Yeshua’s shalom.

  2. 2 seduceanddate.blogspot.fr January 3, 2014 at 11:03 am

    Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after checking through
    some of the post I realized it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back
    frequently!

  3. 3 Normand January 17, 2014 at 8:26 am

    I’ve been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles or weblog
    posts in this kind of house . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this web
    site. Reading this info So i am happy to convey that I’ve a very excellent uncanny
    feeling I found out just what I needed. I such a lot certainly will
    make certain to do not overlook this web site and provides it a look regularly.

  4. 4 http://www.striptease-reviews.com April 29, 2014 at 3:47 pm

    hello!,I love your writing very much! percentage we keep
    in touch more approximately your article on
    AOL? I require an expert on this area to resolve my problem.
    Maybe that’s you! Taking a look forward to see you.


What are your thoughts?

Paul ”Hope Preacher” Smith

Messages of inspiration for the journey of faith

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 80 other followers

March


