What is Worth the Price of Your Soul?

Daily God Walk for Saturday, August 28, 2010

 Whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me will find it. What good will it be for a man if he gains the whole world, yet forfeits his soul? Or what can a man give in exchange for his soul?

– Matthew 16:25-26

 Jesus, in his typical manner, was getting right to the point in this passage. Many who have started their walk of faith have asked questions like, “I don’t have to give up___ Do I?” Or maybe they are trying to make a deal with God and the question is, “What can I keep and still be a Christian?” Jesus answers those questions with his own question; “What can a man give in exchange for his soul?”

Remember the story of Eve in the Garden of Eden? She was set for life. Placed in a beautiful garden, the beauty of creation all around her, yet there was one thing she lacked; there was one thing she wanted. She wanted freedom to make her own choices. Freedom to choose whatever her heart desired, and she chose the forbidden fruit.

The fruit was not ugly and distasteful looking, oh no! Eve saw that it was pleasing to the eye and appeared to be good to eat, and it would make her wise as God giving her the options to make her own choices. She chose to take control of her own destiny and in so doing she lost the very thing she wanted to have – life itself.

It is the nature of man to seek out ways to preserve his life and to make his life better. When I was young I was a pastor, but I always had at least one other business to produce additional income so I could give my family a comfortable lifestyle. At least that is what I told myself, but the truth is I enjoyed the freedom that having the extra money gave me.

I did enjoy those things, but the cost was great. My marriage became broken and I suffered much pain along with my family. Now I am trying to live with the reality that if a person lives for this life alone he will lose those things he cherishes, but those who invest their life in a higher purpose find not only what they desired in this life but they gain eternal life as well.

 Principle:  Serving God means surrender our entire life to him.

Affirmation:  I have committed my life to God for safe keeping.

Prayer:  Help me Lord to always live with my life surrendered to your will and your purposes. In Jesus name, amen.

 Would you like a printed copy of the Daily God Walk? Visit us at: www.newhopeministryresources.org/dailywalk.html

0 Responses to “What is Worth the Price of Your Soul?”



  1. Leave a Comment

What are your thoughts?

Paul ”Hope Preacher” Smith

Messages of inspiration for the journey of faith

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 80 other followers

March


