God Listens To Our Conversations

Daily God Walk for Monday, November 23, 2009

 Those who feared the Lord talked with each other and the Lord listened. A scroll of remembrance was written in his presence concerning those who feared the Lord and honored his name. “They will be mine,” says the Lord Almighty, “In the day when I make up my treasured possession.”  – Malachi 3:16-17

 What a statement this is, “Those who feared the Lord talked with each other and the Lord listened.” I can remember as a child my parents visiting with friends and invariably the conversation would to go the goodness of the Lord and the things he has done. According to this passage the Lord is listening in on those conversations.

Hearing my mom and dad sharing what they had seen God do and hearing their friends sharing what they had seen God do was like reading the faith chapter in Hebrews (Hebrews 11). They would talk of the time my brother died in an industrial accident and God brought him back.

 My dad told the story of being snatched by a cable from beneath a falling 40 ton chunk of concrete so quickly that those who were watching thought he was under it. Why was my dad spared? When he saw the concrete coming toward him he only had time to cry out, “Lord you know I’m not ready to die.” The Lord heard his cry and spared him.

There were times when the stories continued late into the night. Often I have fallen asleep to the familiar sound of my mother rejoicing in the stories of healing and redemption. All that time the Lord was listening.

God has been listening to every story of faith that has ever been shared among believers and he is keeping a book of remembrance. God has a treasure chest of stories which tell of victorious faith.

I have a box where I keep my precious things. There isn’t anything in there that would bring even a dollar in a garage sale, but they are all priceless to me. There are letters from my parents from my college days, and there is even a pair of my baby shoes. My first “preaching Bible” with many pages stained and torn from use is there.

One day, I’ll pass from this life and all of those priceless treasures will pass on to someone who may not value them as I do. But one day, We will be sitting around in heaven talking about the goodness of the Lord and he will bring out his book of precious treasures.

Principle: Those who talk about the Lord are his treasured possessions.

Affirmation: It is a joy to speak of the things of God with my friends.

 Prayer: Lord, I am thankful that you listen when I talk about you. Grant me the grace to talk to you more and to share your many blessings with others. In Jesus name, amen.

 Bible Reading: Psalm 86 – Hosea 1-2 – Revelation 3 – Proverbs 23

Would you like a printed copy of the Daily God Walk for the Whole month? http://newhopeministryresources.org/dailywalk.html

If you haven’t checked out our home page yet click on the line below:

http://newhopeministryresources.org

4 Responses to “God Listens To Our Conversations”


  1. 1 Kiddicare voucher code April 15, 2013 at 9:52 am

    what’s up, i love the icon. kindly tell me where you got it as i want it for my own website.

  2. 2 audiovisual translation studies reader's digest magazine in spanish May 11, 2015 at 8:19 pm

    Great post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am
    impressed! Extremely useful info particularly the last part :
    ) I care for such info a lot. I was looking for this particular
    info for a very long time. Thank you and good luck.

  3. 3 fitness March 24, 2016 at 10:46 pm

    What’s up Dear, are you in fact visiting this site
    on a regular basis, if so afterward you will absolutely take pleasant
    knowledge.


  1. 1 ferrari store codes Trackback on November 4, 2014 at 12:18 pm

What are your thoughts?

Paul ”Hope Preacher” Smith

Messages of inspiration for the journey of faith

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 80 other followers

March


