Persevere In The Freedom Of God’s Grace

Daily God Walk for Tuesday, November 3, 2009

 It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.         – Galatians 5:1

 

One of the challenges that I have faced is resisting my performance based belief system in my faith walk. Like most men I am geared to perform and find my identity in what I have achieved. The problem with this is that it bleeds over into my faith-life.

I don’t think I am the only one who struggles with this issue. In fact, over the years many have come for counsel because of depression and feelings of inadequacy – and both of those conditions are often the result of a performance based belief system.

The problem Paul was addressing with this church is that the Jewish believers were trying to bring them under the law. This Gentile church had not been raised in Judaism and they did not have a performance based belief system. They readily accepted the grace of God through faith in Christ, but the Jewish believers who were still trying to hold to the Law of Moses were trying to convince the church at Galatia to accept the law.

Paul was reminding them that Christ had set them free to serve God in faith, willingly, and not under constraint. The freedom that Christ gave was indeed that – freedom from the law of sin and death. To submit to the Law would subject them to the same failures that the Jews faced.

My personal battle with a performance based faith was won at a time when I was studying a course in evangelism. One part of the course explained what Jesus meant when he cried out from the cross, “It is finished” (John 19:30). A meaning of the word translated “finished” is the discharge of a debt.

Suddenly my head realized what my heart had hoped for; I didn’t owe any debt because my debt was discharged at Calvary. I didn’t have to become worthy and I didn’t have to prove myself to him. He had proved himself to me by paying my debt. I persevered in faith and now I am indeed free.

 Principle: Performance based faith works against the grace of God.

 Affirmation: By accepting Christ by grace through faith I am free indeed.

 Prayer: Lord, thank you for giving me the understanding that it is by grace I have been set free. Grant me the grace to continue in this freedom. Amen.

 Bible Reading: Psalm 23 – Ezra 1-2 – 1 Peter 5 – Proverbs 3

Would you like a printed copy of the Daily God Walk for the Whole month?  http://newhopeministryresources.org/dailywalk.html

If you haven’t checked out our home page yet click on the line below:
http://newhopeministryresources.org

0 Responses to “Persevere In The Freedom Of God’s Grace”



  1. Leave a Comment

What are your thoughts?

Paul ”Hope Preacher” Smith

Messages of inspiration for the journey of faith

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 80 other followers

March


