I Know My Redeemer Lives

Daily God Walk for Monday, October 19, 2009

 I know that my redeemer lives and that in the end he will stand upon the earth… I myself will see him with my own eyes – I, and not another. How my heart yearns within me! – Job 19:25-27

 Job was an incredible man of faith. Can you imagine being a person of influence in the community one day and the next being stripped of everything; livestock, servants, even his children – everything. That’s what happened to Job.

Job’s response to these calamities was remarkable. On this day of calamity one servant after another came to report the tragedies until finally it was all gone. “At this, Job got up and tore his robe and shaved his head. Then he fell to the ground to worship”(Job 1:20). He had just lost everything and he worships .

Part of his prayer has been recorded in Job 1:21: “Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked I will depart. The Lord gave and the Lord has taken away; may the name of the Lord be praised.” The next verse says, “In all this, Job did not sin by charging God with wrong doing.”

From this low point in his life things just got worse. Sores came up on his body from head to foot. The one who used to sit as a judge at the gates of the city now is covered with clothes of morning and ashes as he scrapes his sores. In this condition his wife says, “Job, just curse God and die.” Job shows his deep faith in 13:15, “Though he slay me, yet will I hope in him.”

In all of his trials Job wrestled with more than his own pain. He questioned life and death. Looking at the trees and observing how they seemed to die in the winter yet come to life in the spring he asks rhetorically, “If a man die, will he live again?” Then he answers his own question in this passage.

Even when he had lost everything, including his health, his faith sustained him. He didn’t know about tomorrow, he didn’t know if he would recover in this life, but he did know this; “My redeemer lives… I myself shall see him.”

In the midst of trials remember this: I know my redeemer lives!

 Principle: Faith is measured by what we know in the midst of severe trial.

 Affirmation: Knowing Christ gives me the assurance of eternity.

 Prayer: Lord, I have never had to endure what Job has endured, and I have never been persecuted as some have; grant me the faith and strength to endure if that should come to me. In Jesus name, amen.

 Bible Reading: Psalm 80   – Ezekiel 35-36 – Hebrews 12 – Proverbs 19

Would you like a printed copy of the Daily God Walk for the Whole month?  http://newhopeministryresources.org/dailywalk.html

If you haven’t checked out our home page yet click on the line below:
http://newhopeministryresources.org

0 Responses to “I Know My Redeemer Lives”



  1. Leave a Comment

What are your thoughts?

Paul ”Hope Preacher” Smith

Messages of inspiration for the journey of faith

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 80 other followers

March


