God Called Moses The Meekest Man

Daily God Walk for Wednesday, August 26, 2009

 Now the man Moses was very meek, above all the men which were upon the face of the earth. – Numbers 12:3 (KJV)

 It is hard to imagine the man who had to flee to the dessert after killing an Egyptian soldier as the meekest man on earth. Something surely transpired in the 40 years between fleeing to the dessert and the time God appeared to him in the burning bush.

Time and experience, when handled appropriately, will work patience and humility in us. Many years of herding sheep in the wilderness helped the brash young Moses mature into a meek and humble man that could be used of God to bring Israel out of Egypt.

There was more to the change in Moses than time and experience though. Something happened in him at the burning bush. There before the Lord, barefoot and spiritually naked, Moses went through a transformation.

When God spoke to him of his purpose for him Moses replied, “Who am I, that I should go to Pharaoh and bring the Israelites out of Egypt?” God’s answer, in so many words, was that it wasn’t about Moses – it was about God and the children of Israel. God had been preparing Moses for this job since he was born and now he was revealing himself to him.

God said to Moses, “I will go with you.” Then Moses asked, “Who will I say sent me?” God replied, “I AM who I AM. This is what you are to say to the Israelites: “I AM has sent me to you.” It was this meeting with the great I AM that forever changed Moses.

Humility and meekness is not measured by ability or achievement. These character traits cannot be measured by standards men use to measure success. They are shown in the life of men and women who are committed to the purposes of God. These are people who have stood before the great I AM with their own burning bush experience.

Is God calling you to take off your shoes and stand before him?

 Principle: Standing before the Great I AM will transform a person.

 Affirmation: I am humbled to stand in the presence of the great I AM.

 Prayer: Lord, I have heard your call, but I have been slow to respond. It is not easy to surrender my ambitions for your purposes. Help me to do that. Amen.

 Bible Reading: Psalm 41   – Isaiah 47-48 – Ephesians 6 – Proverbs 26

Would you like a printed copy of the Daily God Walk for the Whole month?  http://newhopeministryresources.org/dailywalk.html

If you haven’t checked out our home page yet click on the line below:
http://newhopeministryresources.org

2 Responses to “God Called Moses The Meekest Man”


  1. 1 Dale Smith March 25, 2011 at 5:28 pm

    Good Stuff, thanks for sharing!

  2. 2 Fiona Laughlan November 19, 2011 at 10:37 am

    Thank you Dale. I was searching for ideas to share with the children in church and had decided to explore meekness. Remembering the verse that says that Moses was noted as the Meekest man, I wondered why God picked him out as such, and started to search other people’s comments. The thoughts you shared on Moses standing before the burning bush have touched my heart. I know I have been both seeking and evading such a meeting. I can only weep at my hesitance.I trust God will help me to take the necessary steps and be able to do the works He has prepared for me to do. May God Bless you.


What are your thoughts?

Paul ”Hope Preacher” Smith

Messages of inspiration for the journey of faith

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 80 other followers

March


