God Knows The End From The Beginning

Daily God Walk for Wednesday, October 14, 2009

 Remember the former things, those of long ago; I am God, and there is no other; I am God, and there is none like me. I make known the end from the beginning, from ancient times, what is still to come. I say: My purpose will stand, and I will do all that I please.                  – Isaiah 46:9-10

 Isaiah had been prophesy hard times for Israel. They would be taken into captivity in Babylon because of their continued disobedience and turning to idols. This prophesy is about a time of deliverance that would come to Israel.

The prophet begins this chapter by speaking against the gods that are made by men to be worshipped by men. The Lord asks, “To whom will you compare me or count me equal?” (v5).  Then he says of idols, “Though one cries out to it, it does not answer; it cannot save him from his troubles” (v7).

He is contrasting the gods of men who know nothing and cannot speak anything to he who is the eternal Lord God.  God says, “I make known the end from the beginning… My purpose will stand, and I will do all that I please.”

The difference between the God of the Jews and the gods of Babylon is that the Babylonians created their gods and the God of creation created the entire human race. The gods of Babylon will not help a man to do more than he could do without his gods; but the God Israel, the God of creation, can do all that we ask, or even think (Ephesians 3:20).

The Jews were headed for a time of Captivity in Babylon, but God was declaring, “My purpose will stand.” What was his purpose? The answer is in verse 13, “I am bringing my righteousness near, it is not far away and my salvation will not be delayed. I will grant salvation to Zion, my splendor to Israel.” God’s purpose was to bring Israel to repentance so he could bless them.

We who are people of faith today, like Israel, are being called to, “Remember the former things.” There are times when we are in a troubled place, but that is not the end of God’s plan for us. Sometimes we are going through the dessert to reach the mountain where the glory of the Lord is.

 Principle: God reveals his plan for us – even when we are in a troubled place.

 Affirmation: I turn to God when I am in a troubled place.

 Prayer: Lord, Many times I have been in trouble as a consequence of my own behavior. Help me walk in repentance before you. In Jesus name, amen.

 Bible Reading: Psalm 109– Ezekiel 25-26 – Hebrews 8 –Proverbs 14

Would you like a printed copy of the Daily God Walk for the Whole month?  http://newhopeministryresources.org/dailywalk.html

If you haven’t checked out our home page yet click on the line below:
http://newhopeministryresources.org

7 Responses to “God Knows The End From The Beginning”


  1. 1 Carol August 11, 2011 at 11:54 pm

    Thanks for the message

    • 2 Paul Smith August 15, 2011 at 6:35 am

      Thank you for responding to the DGW post. Just curious, I just received your comment but it was on a post made in 2009. Did you make the comment then and for some reason I just got it, or did you just happen to come across this post recently? I’m interested to know.
      Thanks and Be Blessed.
      Paul

      • 3 Chris January 16, 2012 at 11:07 am

        Your quote at the beginning of this page is incorrect.
        Isiah 45:9-10 begins “Woe unto him that striveth with hi Maker!…….”

      • 4 Paul Smith January 20, 2012 at 6:39 am

        My boo boo! the reference should have been Isaiah 46: 9-10… thanks for calling it to my attention

    • 5 Andrew January 21, 2013 at 8:54 pm

      May I please correct the passage of scripture? This scripture is found in Isaiah 46: 9-10, not Isaiah 45.

      • 6 Paul Smith January 22, 2013 at 6:37 pm

        Thanks for noticing what had gone unnoticed for over three years… the correction has been made.
        A question: what was you searching when you found this post? Besides the error in the scripture reference, what did you think about the subject matter?

  2. 7 free wood plans May 24, 2013 at 7:04 pm

    I like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your blog and
    check again here regularly. I am quite certain I’ll learn many new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!


What are your thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 78 other followers

